Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

The Political Mind

Why You Can't Understand 21st-Century American Politics with an 18th-Century Brain

by George Lakoff
Kent Cassella

Audiobook

0 of 3 copies available
1 person waiting per copy

In What's the Matter with Kansas? Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.

As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain---and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another---or building a whole new narrative altogether---can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn't like changing your body---it's the same thing.

But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.

This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.


Expand title description text
Publisher: Tantor Media
Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9781400128099
  • File size: 245456 KB
  • Release date: April 2, 2009
  • Duration: 08:30:29

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9781400128099
  • File size: 245456 KB
  • Release date: April 2, 2009
  • Duration: 08:30:29
  • Number of parts: 9


Loading

0 of 3 copies available
1 person waiting per copy

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

subjects

Politics Nonfiction

Languages

English

In What's the Matter with Kansas? Thomas Frank pointed out that a great number of Americans actually vote against their own interests. In The Political Mind, George Lakoff explains why.

As it turns out, human beings are not the rational creatures we've so long imagined ourselves to be. Ideas, morals, and values do not exist somewhere outside the body, ready to be examined and put to use. Instead, they exist quite literally inside the brain---and they take physical shape there. For example, we form particular kinds of narratives in our minds just like we form specific muscle memories such as typing or dancing, and then we fit new information into those narratives. Getting that information out of one narrative type and into another---or building a whole new narrative altogether---can be as hard as learning to play the banjo. Changing your mind isn't like changing your body---it's the same thing.

But as long as progressive politicians and activists persist in believing that people use an objective system of reasoning to decide on their politics, the Democrats will continue to lose elections. They must wrest control of the terms of the debate from their opponents rather than accepting their frame and trying to argue within it.

This passionate, erudite, and groundbreaking book will appeal to readers of Steven Pinker and Thomas Frank. It is a fascinating read for anyone interested in how the mind works, how society works, and how they work together.


Expand title description text